ruling elders

Session meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 6:00 PM

As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people. Accordingly, congregations should elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships. When elected by the congregation, they shall serve faithfully as members of the session. When elected as commissioners to higher councils, ruling elders participate and vote with the same authority as teaching elders, and they are eligible for any office. Book of Order G-2.0301

The 2023 Session is pictured below. Members (l to r): Jake Pepper, Shane Fortner, Nancy Taylor, Chris Teutsch, Penny Mahan, Jenny Franke, Leeann Bailey, Moderator Rev. Steve Fortenberry, and Tom Klubert. Not pictured: Sherman Chaudoin.


Trustees meet as needed

Individual trustees shall be elected by the congregation in the same manner as those elected to the ordered ministry of ruling elder. Trustees shall have the following powers: to receive, hold, encumber, manage, and transfer property, real or personal, for the congregation, provided that in buying, selling, and mortgaging real property, the trustees shall act only after the approval of the congregation, granted in a duly constituted meeting; to accept and execute deeds of title to such property; to hold and defend title to such property; to manage any permanent special funds for the furtherance of the purposes of the congregation, all subject to the authority of the session and under the provisions of the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). The powers and duties of the trustees shall not infringe upon the powers and duties of the session.  Book of Order 4.0101

The 2023 Trustees are pictured below (l to r): Dwight Wolfe, Lucy Stevens, Gerry Baker, Gale Cherry, Buz Taylor, and Bebby Lewis.

Teams & Committees

Christian Education Committee

Betty Cook, Stacey Menser, and Amy Simms

Communications Committee

Nancy Taylor, Session Liaison; Andy Bailey, Mabeth Cortner, Suzanne Davis, and James Menser

Congregational Care Committee

Penny Mahan, Session Liaison; Laura Baker, Judy Bishop, Mollie Boyd, Diane Chaudoin, Sherman Chaudoin, Kelly Falder, Jenny Franke, and Serieta Jaggers

Congregational Fellowship Committee

Penny Mahan, Session Liaison; Kelly Falder, Pat Hayes, Laura Klubert, Stacey Menser, and Janie Tomek

Finance and Stewardship Committee

Leeann Bailey, Gerry Baker, Betty Cook, Pat Hayes, Serieta Jaggers, Tom Klubert, Jake Pepper, and Dwight Wolfe

Mission and Evangelism Team

Jenny Franke, Session liaison; Karen Burris, Roy Burris, John Mahan, Stacey Menser, and Jackie Murray

Nominating Committee

Session Representatives: Sherman Chaudoin, Jake Pepper, and Nancy Taylor; Members at Large: Betty Cook, Kelly Falder, J. J. Griggs, and Serieta Jaggers

Personnel Committee

Shane Fortner, Session Liaison; Kelly Falder, Serieta Jaggers, Jake Pepper, and Chris Teutsch

Safety and Security Team

Sherman Chaudoin, Session Liaison; Leeann Bailey, Gerry Baker, Laura Baker, Kenny Cortner, Rollie Fortner, Shane Fortner, Jenny Franke, David Hall, Pat Hayes, Serieta Jaggers, Bebby Lewis, Rick Lewis, Fred McConnell, and Chad Pepper

Worship Team

Nancy Taylor, Session liaison; Mollie Boyd, Mabeth Cortner, Missy McDaniel, Stacey Menser, and Serieta Jaggers

Online Church Directory

Joan Freeman, Mabeth Cortner, Misty Dorsey

Presbytery Commission and Committee Memberships

     Rev. Steve Fortenberry - Vice-Moderator of Western KY Presbytery and Commission on Ministry

     Shane Fortner - Trustee and Commission on Ministry

     Jenny Franke - Mission Committee

     Stacey Menser - Leadership Development Committee

     Mabeth Cortner - Permanent Judicial Commission, Personnel Committee, Committee on Nominations and  Representation, Administrative Manual Review Task Force